Stamets@lemmy.world to RPGMemes @ttrpg.network · 2 days agoThe Dice Giveth...lemmy.worldimagemessage-square36fedilinkarrow-up1735arrow-down19
arrow-up1726arrow-down1imageThe Dice Giveth...lemmy.worldStamets@lemmy.world to RPGMemes @ttrpg.network · 2 days agomessage-square36fedilink
minus-squaresquaresinger@lemmy.worldlinkfedilinkarrow-up2·15 hours ago Isn’t that right foot easy stuff? Sorry, don’t know if I understand what you mean with that. Why should they fail to tie a simple knot on a +5, dc5 use rope check 1 in 20 times? Why should they roll for something as simple as tieing a simple knot? I don’t make my players roll whether they manage to tie their shoes either.
minus-squarepsud@aussie.zonelinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up2·14 hours agoA simple knot like the bowline you’d tie around a sturdy tree before descending by rope into a hole That’s exactly the sort of thing a DM would set as DC10
minus-squaresquaresinger@lemmy.worldlinkfedilinkarrow-up2·13 hours agoIf your skill level would guarantee a win if you ignore the concept of a natural 1 auto-failing, then there should be no roll.
minus-squarepsud@aussie.zonelinkfedilinkEnglisharrow-up1·edit-211 hours agoIf everyone is aware. If the player knows the DC and the GM knows the players character sheet …ignore the concept I call it following the rules. 1 as an auto fail is a common house rule, it is not the rule in d&d
Sorry, don’t know if I understand what you mean with that.
Why should they roll for something as simple as tieing a simple knot? I don’t make my players roll whether they manage to tie their shoes either.
A simple knot like the bowline you’d tie around a sturdy tree before descending by rope into a hole
That’s exactly the sort of thing a DM would set as DC10
If your skill level would guarantee a win if you ignore the concept of a natural 1 auto-failing, then there should be no roll.
If everyone is aware. If the player knows the DC and the GM knows the players character sheet
I call it following the rules. 1 as an auto fail is a common house rule, it is not the rule in d&d
Swipe typo. Corrected now